Transatlantic Sessions (Complete Series 2 – 1998) (DVD) (2011)

Released on 26th Septemeber 2011 by Whirlie Records. The complete second series of The Transatlantic Sessions produced by Pelicula Films in 1998. Three individual performances from John, He Got All The Whiskey in Programme One, Excuse Me Mister in Programme Three and Solid Air in Programme Seven. 46 tracks and three and a half hours of viewing!

Programme One:

1.    Maura O’Connell with James Grant And Nanci Griffith – The Blue Train (composed Jennifer Kimball And Tom Kimmel)
2.    Ricky Skaggs – A Simple Life (composed Mac Mcanally) / Traditional Reel (trad arr Bain)
3.    Ishbel Macaskill with Iain MacDonald – Piobaireachd Dhòmhnaill Dhuibh (trad arr Bain)
4.    John Martyn with Eddi Reader – He Got All The Whiskey (composed B Charles)
5.    Sharon Shannon with Russ Barenberg – Magic Foot (composed Russ Barenberg)
6.    Nanci Griffith – Boots Of Spanish Leather (composed Bob Dylan)
7.    Michael Doucet with Sharon Shannon – Eunice Two-Step (trad source – A Ardoin – arr Beausoleil – Orange Skies Music BMI)

Transatlantic Sessions 2 DVDProgramme Two:

1.    Aly Bain – Waiting For The Federals (trad arr Bain)
2.    Nanci Griffith with Karen Matheson, James Grant And Maura O’Connell – Who Knows Where The Time Goes(composed Sandy Denny)
3.    Aly Bain with Jerry Douglas, Russ Barenberg And Donald Shaw – Violet Tulloch, Queen Of Lerwick (composed Phil Cunningham)
4.    Paul Brady with Karen Matheson And Fiona Kennedy – The World Is What You Make It (composed Paul Brady)
5.    James Grant with Karen Matheson And Maura O’Connell – Evangeline (composed James Grant)
6.    Michael Doucet – Jolie Blonde (trad arr Doucet)
7.    Ricky Skaggs with Aly Bain – Talk About Suffering (adapted Ricky Skaggs – Hall-Clement Publications BMI And Ricky Skaggs Music – arr Skaggs) / Traditional Reel (trad arr Bain)

Programme Three:

1.    Maura O’Connell with Nancy Griffith – Trouble In The Fields (composed Nancy Griffith)
2.    Breda Smyth – Bachelor’s Walk (composed Breda Smyth) / The Congress (trad arr Smyth)
3.    Eddi Reader with Boo Hewerdine – Footsteps Fall (composed Hewerdine And Bjergfeldt)
4.    Aly Bain – Bonaparte’s Retreat (trad arr Bain)
5.    Rosanne Cash – Seven Year Ache (composed Rosanne Cash)
6.    John Martyn – Excuse Me Mister (composed Ben Harper)
7.    Karen Matheson with James Grant – There’s Always Sunday (composed James Grant)

Programme Four:

1.    Eddi Reader with Boo Hewerdine – Hummingbird (composed Boo Hewerdine)
2.    Nanci Griffith – Road To Aberdeen (composed Nanci Griffith)
3.    Ronan Browne – Urban Air (composed Ronan Browne)
4.    Sharon White with Ricky Skaggs – Storms Are On The Ocean (composed A P Carter)
5.    Michael Doucet with Sharon Shannon – La Danse De La Vie (composed Michael Doucet)
6.    Karen Matheson with Paul Brady – Ae Fond Kiss (composed Robert Burns)
7.    Radney Foster – God Knows When (composed Radney Foster)

Programme Five:

1.    Fiona Kennedy with Karen Matheson – Nach Truagh Leat Mi Stún Eirinn (trad arr Kennedy)
2.    Sharon Shannon – Western Lift / Glass Of Beer / Unnamed Reel (trad arr Shannon)
3.    James Grant – Cure For Life (composed James Grant)
4.    Paul Brady with Karen Matheson – Marriage Made In Hollywood (composed Paul Brady And Michael O’Keeve)
5.    Jerry Douglas – A Tribute To Paedar O’Donnell (composed Dónal Lunny) / Takarasaka (composed Jerry Douglas)
6.    Radney Foster – God Speed (composed Radney Foster)

Programme Six:

1.    Rosanne Cash – Forty Shades Of Green (composed Johnny Cash)
2.    Jerry Douglas – Passing The Bar (composed Jerry Douglas)
3.    Ricky Skaggs – My Father’s Son (composed Ricky Skaggs And George M Green)
4.    Russ Barenberg – Les Veuves De La Coulee (Windows Of The Creek) (trad arr Russ Barenberg)
5.    Nanci Griffith with Ricky Skaggs And Sharon White – Always Will (composed Nanci Griffith)
6.    Radney Foster with Eddi Reader – Nobody Wins (composed Radney Foster And Kim Richey)

Programme Seven:

1.    Russ Barenberg – Return To The Brandywine (composed Russ Barenberg)
2.    Rosanne Cash with John Leventhal – September When It Comes (composed Rosanne Cash And John Leventhal)
3.    Tommy Hayes with Fiona Kennedy And Karen Matheson – Sanseptique Set: Domhnall Dubh An Domhnallaich (trad arr Haynes, Kennedy) / Thoir A Nall Ailean Thugam (trad arr Hayes, Kennedy) / Sanseptique (composed Tommy Hayes)
4.    Maura O’Connell with Karen Matheson – Down By The Sally Gardens (lyrics W B Yeats, trad arr O’Connell)
5.    Sharon White with Ricky Skaggs – The Mansion On The Hill (composed Hank Williams)
6.    John Martyn with Danny Thompson – Solid Air (composed John Martyn)
7.    Iain MacDonald – Puirt a Beul Set: O Mhisg A’Chuir A Nollaig Oirnn / Cape Breton Port A Beul / Ann Mackeachnie’s Favourite / Bealach A’Chara (all trad arr MacDonald)