One World…One John (2012)

Excellent DVD released on 28th February 2012 and based on the Tell Them I’m Somebody Else video originally released in 2000. There is much new material filmed around the same time in 1999 to 2003 by Lyn and One World One John DVDEleanor McMullan, “This film on John Martyn was recorded between Nov 1999 and June 2003 in Ireland and Scotland. During the filming and afterwards we had many wonderful, unforgetteble, adventures with John. There’s not a day goes by that we don’t think of him.”

1.    The Easy Blues
2.    How Fortunate The Man With None
3.    May You Never
4.    Couldn’t Love You More
5.    Cooltide
6.    She’s A Lover
7.    Solid Air
8.    Yes We Can
9.    Lookin’ On
10.    Excuse Me Mister
11.    You Don’t Know What Love Is
12.    Cocain
13.    One World
14.    John Wayne
15.    Over The Rainbow
16.    Sergeant Sergeant

Read More

John Martyn In Vision 1973-81 (1982)

Released by the BBC in 1982 for £37.95 in VHS and Betamax formats. This tremendous video contains footage of John playing solo acoustic and later with his band. Lots of material taken from John’s numerous appearances on The Old Grey Whistle Test, Sight and Sound in Concert, Rock goes to College and A Little Night Music. Over 100 minutes but unfortunately long deleted, if you come across a copy buy it!! You will not be disappointed.

  1. JOhn Martyn In Vision VideoI’d Rather Be The Devil (1973)
  2. May You Never (1973)
  3. Make No Mistake (1973)
  4. One Day Without You (1975)
  5. Couldn’t Love You More (1977)
  6. One World (1977)
  7. Spencer The Rove(1977)
  8. Dealer (1977)
  9. Small Hours (1978)
  10. Bless The Weather (1978)
  11. Certain Surprise (1978)
  12. Sweet Little Mystery (1981)
  13. Some People Are Crazy (1981)
  14. Grace And Danger (1981)
  15. Save Some (1981)
  16. Eibhli Ghail Chiuin ni Chearbhaill (1981)
  17. Couldn’t Love You More (1981)
  18. Johnny Too Bad (1981)
  19. Outside In (1981)
  20. Hurt In Your Heart (1981)
Read More

Live from London (1986)

Released in May 1986 and recorded at The Camden Palace Theatre, London on 23rd November 1984. Subsequently released on DVD in the USA (region 1) in 2000 and then in the UK (region 2) in 2001 with a soundtrack CD on the reverse of the DVD. A nice gig with John playing lots of guitar. Some of the songs were also released by Sony on two compilation videos. Don’t Want To Know  and One World  were used on Guitar Men and Sweet Little Mystery and Could’ve Been Me were used on The Statesmen of Rock.  Available on video and DVD.

  1. Don’t Want To Know
  2. Lookin’ On
  3. Sweet Little Mystery
  4. Root Love
  5. Could’ve Been Me
  6. Big Muff
  7. John Wayne
  8. One World
  9. Sapphire

Live From London UK DVD 2001Live From London Original USA DVD 2000Live From London Original VHS Video

Read More

Foundations: Live at The Town and Country Club (1988)

Released in 1988 by Island Visual Arts this video is 65 minutes long and was recorded at The Town and Country Club, London on 13th November 1986.

There are some early versions of songs from The Apprentice album which was not released until 1990, namely The Apprentice, Deny This Love and Send me One Line. John plays with an unusually large band including two keyboard players and two percussionists. A well made video but once again not easy to find now as it has been deleted.

  1. Foundations: Live At The Town And Country ClubMad Dog Days
  2. Angeline
  3. The Apprentice
  4. May You Never
  5. Solid Air
  6. Deny This Love
  7. Send Me One Line
  8. John Wayne
  9. Dealer
  10. Johnny Too Bad
  11. Over The Rainbow
  12. Sweet Little Mystery
Read More

The Apprentice Tour (1991)

Filmed in 1990 on The Apprentice Tour and released in August the same year this video is approx 78 minutes long and also features Pink Floyds David Gilmour for some songs. Well filmed concert originally available on video, now available on DVD.

  1. The Apprentice Tour Easy Blues
  2. May You Never
  3. Dealer
  4. Outside In
  5. Never Let Me Go
  6. Sapphire
  7. Deny This Love
  8. Sweet Little Mystery
  9. The River
  10. The Apprentice
  11. John Wayne
  12. Look At The Girl
  13. One World
Read More

Tell Them I’m Somebody Else (2000)

Tell Them I’m Somebody Else was released in 2000. A wonderful video of over 104 minutes of footage. A great release featuring some tremendous live performances and also fly on the wall scenes in the dressing room, rehearsals and interviews with John.  Available in NTSC (USA), PAL (UK) and SECAM format, a very enjoyable film and worthwhile addition to your John Martyn Collection.


  1. Tell Them I'm Somebody ElseEasy Blues
  2. She’s a Lover/ Solid Air
  3. Lookin’ On
  4. Don’t Want To Know
  5. Can Can
  6. Cocain
  7. Cry Me A River
  8. The Field Of Play
  9. Cooltide
  10. Glory Box
  11. Over The Rainbow

Plus: Backstage footage, soundchecks, rehearsals, interviews.


Read More