The Phoenix And The Turtle

Beverley Martyn’s new album The Phoenix and the Turtle is due for release on 22 April 2014 on both CD and vinyl.

The Phoenix And The TurtleHere is the tracklisting-

1. Reckless Jane
2. Potter’s Blues
3. Going To Germany
4. Sweet Joy
5. Nighttime
6. Levee Breaks
7. Women & Malt Whisky
8. Mountain Hop
9. Jesse James

Described by Beverley as a very personal album, it features songs written throughout her entire career, from her very first song, Sweet Joy, to the previously unrecorded Nick Drake and Beverley Martyn song Reckless Jane which was started in 1974 when Nick Drake lived near to John and Beverley in Hampstead. “We started writing the song as a bit of a joke,” she says, “I couldn’t look at it for a long time after he died, but then finally I decided to finish it.”

BeverleyWhen The Levee Breaks and Going To Germany are songs Beverley used to sing with The Levee Breakers. Another song, Women And Malt Whiskey is, in part, about John and other friends from the scene back then.

The Phoenix and the Turtle is Beverley’s first album in fourteen years and was recorded in Wales with guitarist and producer Mark Pavey; it also features contributions from bass player Matt Malley, ex-Counting Crows and drummer Victor Bisetti, ex-Los Lobos which were recorded “by the magic of computer” in California. The album “still has that in-a-room feel,” said Beverley, “it sounds like an old style analogue record. It’s very me, very transatlantic.”

Beverley and her full band will be playing Bush Hall, London, April 29th, 2014, to coincide with the release. Tickets priced at £15.00 in advance. Box Office: 020 8222 6955.

The album is available to pre-order here.