Well Kept Secret (Remastered And Expanded) (2014)

This remastered and expanded Well Kept Secret was released on 7th July 2014 by Esoteric Recordings (part of the Cherry Red Records Group) with enhanced artwork and sleeve notes.

There are two bonus songs, a U.S. Remix of Gun Money (previously available as a 12 inch U.S. promotional release)  and Hiss On The Tape recorded live at The Oxford Apollo on 10th October 1982 (previously available on a 7 inch single).

Well Kept Secret was originally released in September 1982, produced by Sandy Roberton. The album was very pop orientated although John’s trade marks of sensuality and emotion were present particularly on Could’ve Been Me and Hung Up. The album charted for seven weeks, this time reaching the Top 20. Halfway through the recording John accidentally impaled himself on a fence, puncturing a lung, and was so loaded during the subsequent sessions that he can’t even remember taking part! The superb ballad Never Let Me Go featured Ronnie Scott on saxophone.

“The songs are warm and intelligent and a majority of Well Kept Secret is pacier and louder than he’s ever been on one album before…it’s a good record, a class record.” – NME

  1. Well Kept SecretCould’ve Been Me (J. Martyn)
  2. You Might Need A Man (J. Martyn)
  3. Hung Up (J. Martyn)
  4. Gun Money (J. Martyn)
  5. Never Let Me Go (Joe Scott)
  6. Love Up (J. Martyn)
  7. Changes Her Mind (J. Martyn)
  8. Hiss On The Tape (J. Martyn)
  9. Back With A Vengeance (J. Martyn)
  10. Livin’ Alone (J. Martyn)
  11. Gun Money (U.S. Remix) (J. Martyn)
  12. Hiss On The Tape (Live) (J. Martyn)

Cherry Records press release –

•    Newly remastered and expanded CD release for John Martyn’s 1982 album.
•    With two rare bonus tracks.
•    Booklet with fully restored artwork and liner notes.
•    Reviews in national newspapers, Uncut, Mojo, Record Collector and Classic Rock magazines.
•    Coverage on relevant websites and fanzines.

Esoteric Recordings are pleased to announce the release of a newly remastered and expanded edition of “Well Kept Secret”, John Martyn’s classic album from September 1982.

The album was John’s second album for WEA Records and was a slight change of artistic direction for him, but was well received critically and also became a UK top 20 hit. Including tracks such as ‘Could’ve Been Me’, ‘Hung Up’, ‘Never Let Me Go’ (featuring a wonderful saxophone solo by Ronnie Scott), the album spawned a successful UK tour and earned John Martyn praise from many quarters. New Musical Express declared the record to be “pacier and louder than he’s ever been on one album before. It’s a good record, a class record”

This Esoteric Recordings edition of “Well Kept Secret” has been newly remastered by Paschal Byrne and features an illustrated booklet with an essay by John Martyn aficionado and official webmaster John Hillarby. It also includes two bonus tracks, released as a single in October 1982.

Cherry Red Records
27 March 2014