Head And Heart The Acoustic John Martyn

Released by Universal Music on 28 April 2017 a two CD set celebrating John’s acoustic music.

Thirty five songs in total (including four previously unreleased takes) accompanied by a booklet including sleeve notes and memorabilia. Available here.



1. Fairy Tale Lullaby
2. London Conversation
3. Don’t Think Twice It’s Alright
4. She Moves Through The Fair
5. Goin’ Down To Memphis (Previously unreleased)
6. A Day At The Sea (Previously unreleased)
7. Seven Black Roses (Previously unreleased)
8. Woodstock
9. John The Baptist
10. Traffic-Light Lady
11. Parcels
12. New Day
13. Tree Green
14. Go Easy
15. Bless The Weather [BBC Old Grey Whistle Test 18/1/72] (Previously unreleased)
16. Head And Heart
17. Singin’ In The Rain
18. In The Evening

1. The Glory Of Love
2. Solid Air
3. Over The Hill
4. May You Never
5. Go Down Easy
6. When It’s Dark
7. Fine Lines
8. Ways To Cry
9. Beverley/Make No Mistake [BBC – Bob Harris 15/10/73]
10. One Day Without You [BBC – John Peel 13/1/75]
11. Lay It All Down
12. My Baby Girl [BBC – John Peel 13/1/75]
13. All For The Love Of You
14. Working It Out
15. Spencer The Rover [BBC – John Peel 13/1/75]
16. Certain Surprise/Couldn’t Love You More [BBC – John Peel 4/2/77]
17. Patterns In The Rain [Island Birthday Party 4/7/87]


Universal Music Press Release

This April sees the release of Head and Heart – The Acoustic John Martyn, a beautiful, 35-track, double CD set, which captures the legendary singer-songwriter at his intimate best.

Thoughtfully compiled, the set comprises key album tracks, from his 1967 debut, London Conversation through to 1977’s One World. The set closes with a version of Patterns In The Rain, recorded live at Island Records 25th birthday party in 1987. Accompanied only by grand piano, it is an unusual and very different performance from John Martyn, highlighting his remarkable vocal talent. In addition to many of his best known songs, the album also features four previously unreleased recordings, including three demo versions of songs recorded at the sessions for 1968’s The Tumbler and the long lost 1971 performance of Bless The Weather for The Old Grey Whistle Test.

The set is made complete with the inclusion of specially commissioned liner notes by respected music writer and author of the Sandy Denny biography, I’ve Always Kept A Unicorn, Mick Houghton.

Singer-songwriter/guitarist John Martyn began his innovative and expansive career at the age of 17, with a style that, at first, drew influence from American blues artists. He eventually moved to London, where he became a regular fixture at Les Cousins, the centre for the local folk scene. He soon caught the attention of Island Records founder Chris Blackwell who made him the first solo white act to join the roster of his then reggae-based label. With his characteristic backslap, acoustic guitar playing and catalogue of timeless songs, John Martyn, who died in 2009, remains an important and influential figure in British folk and rock music.

28th APRIL 2017

For further information etc. please contact Dorothy Howe Press & Publicity.