The Tumbler (Remastered) (2005)

Released on 7th November 2005 by Universal Music with improved artwork and sleevenotes. The front cover and tracklisting are as the original. John’s second album was released in December 1968. Another album in the folk tradition but featuring the jazz flautist Harold McNair, particularly on the romantic Dusty, The Gardeners and Fly On Home. As a young man John stayed with his sister who lived near Hampton Court and the song Dusty was inspired by his happy memories of Hampton Court Fair.

This album was produced by Al Stewart and had more of a sparkle than London Conversation and John said, “The album ‘sings’ a bit more than before.”

The Tumbler

Of his first two albums John said, “Those were basically acoustic albums….I got bored with the folk/acoustic thing. You can’t keep churning that out, it stifles innovation, kills the personal touch.”

  1. Sing A Song Of Summer (J. Martyn)
  2. The River (J. Martyn)
  3. Goin’ Down To Memphis (J. Martyn)
  4. The Gardeners (J. Martyn)
  5. A Day At The Sea (J. Martyn)
  6. Fishin’ Blues (J. Martyn)
  7. Dusty (J. Martyn)
  8. Hello Train (J. Martyn)
  9. Winding Boy (Morton)
  10. Fly On Home (J. Martyn, Wheeler)
  11. Knuckeldy Crunch And Slippledee Slee Song (J. Martyn)
  12. Seven Black Roses (J. Martyn)