Sweet Certain Surprise (2001)

Released on 15th October 2001 Sweet Certain Surprise (OW119CD) was originally a commercial bootleg limited to 500 copies and features live acoustic material from 1977 in the USA and with John’s band in 1981 in London.

The sound quality has been greatly improved and there are two bonus songs not on the original bootleg, The Easy Blues and One Day Without You. Some great artwork by Steve Lee of Zeit Artwork works very well. The artwork for the original bootleg is shown to the left and the track listing is the same as that above with the exception of tracks 11 and 12 which do not feature on the bootleg. Many of the songs are also incorrectly titled.

John had spent most of 1976 on sabbatical in Jamaica and returned to playing live early in 1977. This is one of his first gigs back on the road and he is enjoying himself! There is an incredible instrumental of Seven Black Roses, which demonstrates John’s dexterity as a guitar virtuoso. John describes this as his Visual Guitar Solo, which he first performed in Clubs in the 1960s. Live 1970s material is a little scarce and so this release is well worth checking out.

  1. Head and Heart (J. Martyn)Sweet Certain Surprise
  2. Man In The Station (J. Martyn)
  3. My Baby Girl (J. Martyn)
  4. Make No Mistake (J. Martyn)
  5. Bless The Weather (J. Martyn)
  6. Seven Black RosesĀ  (J. Martyn)
  7. Certain Surprise (J. Martyn)
  8. Couldn’t Love You More (J. Martyn)
  9. Over The Hill (J. Martyn)
  10. Solid Air (J. Martyn)
  11. The Easy Blues (J. Martyn)
  12. One Day Without You (J.Martyn)
  13. Big Muff
  14. Sweet Little Mystery (J.Martyn)
  15. May You Never (J.Martyn)
  16. Spencer The Rover (J.Martyn)