No Little Boy (Remastered) (2008)

No Little Boy was remastered and released by Voiceprint Records on 3rd March 2008.The tracklisting remained the same as the original album that was released on 23rd July 1993 but with enhanced artwork and sleeve notes.

John was unhappy that Couldn’t Love You More had been released. John was in fine voice throughout and Levon Helm, Phil Collins and Andy Sheppard all featured. Some songs were slightly remixed to bring more character to the songs but most songs were completely overhauled. Some of the tracks were deleted and four songs were entirely re- recorded, I Don’t Wanna Know, Sunday’s Child and Bless The Weather featuring John Giblin on bass, and a excellent new version of Just Now featuring Levon Helm on harmony vocals. The end result was a vastly superior album, much more in balance and John was happy.

It was a lot to expect from his fans to buy an album with such a similar content but many did and most prefer John’s reworking of Couldn’t Love You More to the original. However, there was no doubt that John’s credibility had been harmed by the release of two very similar albums. Was John correct to rework the material ? What were Permanent thinking of to release an album without John’s approval ? This was the end of the road for John and Permanent.

No Little Boy (Remastered)“The music is beautiful and Martyn is in fine voice throughout…” Q Review

  1. Solid Air
  2. Ways To Cry
  3. Could’ve Been Me
  4. I Don’t Wanna Know
  5. Just Now
  6. One Day Without You
  7. Sweet Little Mystery
  8. Pascanel (Get Back Home)
  9. Sunday’s Child
  10. Head And Heart
  11. Fine Lines
  12. Bless The Weather
  13. Man In The Station
  14. One World
  15. Rock, Salt And Nails
  16. Hole In The Rain