Live In Milan 1979 (2002)

Released on 27th May 2002. Live In Milan is a tremendous solo gig , for those of you who didn’t see John playing live in the 1970s here’s what you missed and for the lucky ones who did, a reminder of the John Martyn one-man-orchestra, of spliff-filled auditoriums and a great vibe!

“The real treats are  “Outside In”, “One World” and “Big Muff”, where John snakes his acoustic guitar through delays, wah wah and fuzzboxes to produce lush, billowing soundscapes. Martyn must be one of the most underrated and individual guitar stylists this country has produced……Live in 1979 is a nice summing up of those years when he was cheerfully demolishing the boundaries between jazz, blues, folk and rock while producing some of the most honest, moving music you’re likely to hear. Bless ‘im.” Peter Marsh for the BBC.

CD1Live In Milan 1979

  1. Big Muff  (J. Martyn/ L. Perry)
  2. Certain Surprise  (J. Martyn)
  3. Couldn’t Love You More (J. Martyn)
  4. One Day Without You  (J. Martyn)
  5. Over The Hill  (J. Martyn)
  6. Outside In (J. Martyn)
  7. Spencer The Rover (J. Martyn)


  1. One World (J. Martyn)
  2. The Easy Blues  ( Morton)
  3. Seven Black Roses (J. Martyn)
  4. Beverley (J. Martyn)
  5. Make No Mistake (J. Martyn)
  6. Bless The Weather (J. Martyn)
  7. May You Never (J. Martyn)
  8. Singin’ In The Rain (Brown/ Freed)
  9. I’d Rather Be The Devil (part)  (James)
  10. Solid Air  (J. Martyn)
  11. I’d Rather Be The Devil (James)
  12. Stay/ Anna/ Small Hours (M. Williams/ J.Martyn / M. Norton/ J. Martyn)