Cooltide (1991)

Released on 9th September 1991. This album was more characteristic of John’s style and the synthesizers were less evident. All John’s trade marks are present, strangled duck vocals, subdued beat with excellent instrumentation. Tremendous bass lines featured through Jack The Lad, the up tempo The Cure and the atmospheric title track. An early insight in to the development of this track was later to be released on the Live At Bristol 1991 album. Father Time is a jazz orientated track and different from the other tracks on the album in that respect. Emotion and heartfelt vocals are particularly evident on Call Me. An album which many fans return to on a regular basis. John toured during September and October.

Jack the Lad was released as a CD single with a remix of the same song as track 2 called Jack Sez and Annie Says as a third track.


  1. Hole In The Rain (J. Martyn)
  2. Annie Says (J. Martyn)
  3. Jack The Lad (J. Martyn)
  4. Number Nine (J. Martyn)
  5. The Cure (J. Martyn)
  6. Same Difference (J. Martyn)
  7. Father Time (J. Martyn)
  8. Call Me (J. Martyn)
  9. Cooltide (J. Martyn)