Foundations (1987)

Released in October 1987. John toured America, Europe and Britain in 1986 and Island released Foundations, which is a live album recorded at the Town and Country club on 13th November 1986. The album contained three new songs, The Apprentice, Send Me One Line and Deny This Love. John was moved to write the first track having met a particularly ill looking man in a pub near the Sellafield nuclear recycling plant in Cumbria. John enquired about the man’s health and why he was so ill and he replied that he worked at the station – hence the song lyrics. Send Me One Line was written for a film called 84 Charing Cross Road (after the Helene Hanff novel) but was never used. The film is the story of the love affair between a woman and a shop. The rest of the album consisted of enjoyable and interesting re-workings of old favourites and was well played and produced. John again toured to promote the new album.

“Musically excellent.” – Q magazine


  1. Mad Dog Days
  2. Angeline
  3. The Apprentice
  4. May You Never
  5. Deny This Love
  6. Send Me One Line
  7. John Wayne
  8. Johnny Too Bad
  9. Over The Rainbow