Sunday’s Child (1975)

Released 24th January 1975 and recorded and mixed during August 1974 at Island Studios. The sessions were short but intensive, producing songs of considerable contrasts from the boogie of Clutches, to the traditional folk song of Spencer The Rover. The overall feel of the album is one of contentment and John called it ‘the family album, very happy purely romantic…a nice period’, an impression borne out by My Baby Girl, which featured Beverley on vocals for the last time.

The Message is a very underrated song and worthy of more attention than it gets. Many of the songs such as One Day Without You, Lay It All Down and You Can Discover are pure emotion and romanticism. My Baby Girl and Spencer The Rover are dedicated to two of John’s children.

“Simply one of the best British albums made in the 1970’s…it just seems to get better all the time…” (ZigZag 3/77)

  1. Sunday's ChildOne Day Without You (J. Martyn)
  2. Lay It All Down (J. Martyn)
  3. Root Love (J. Martyn)
  4. My Baby Girl (J. Martyn)
  5. Sunday’s Child (J. Martyn)
  6. Spencer The Rover (Traditional arranged by J. Martyn)
  7. Clutches (J. Martyn)
  8. The Message (J. Martyn)
  9. Satisfied Mind (Traditional arranged by J. Martyn)
  10. You Can Discover (J. Martyn)
  11. Call Me Crazy (J. Martyn)