Inside Out (1973)

Released in October 1973. John described Inside Out as “everything I ever wanted to do in music… it’s my inside coming out.” The album was experimental, a skillfully free-form jazz orientated album featuring superb guitar work by John and superbly varied bass playing from Danny Thompson. Other musicians included Traffic’s Steve Winwood and Chris Wood, Bobby Keyes and Remi Kabaka. The intensive recording sessions were largely late at night with no cutting, editing or splicing. It was “live” and tracks were faded out where necessary. The album won John a Golden Disc from Montreaux. Considered by critics as a “cosmic foray.” At the time John explained that Inside Out was all about the concept of love…

“It felt natural”, said John at the beginning of the track Fine Lines.

“I think I’ll always use Danny Thompson because he’s got real feel for my music and I’ve got real feel for his.”

“A celebration of love – his playing has reached an uplifting intensity, the equal of anything on offer at present…I unreservedly recommend it !” (Melody Maker 13/10/73)

  1. Inside Out Fine Lines (J. Martyn)
  2. Eibhli Ghail Chiuin Ni Chearbhaill (Traditional arranged by J. Martyn)
  3. Ain’t No Saint (J. Martyn)
  4. Outside In (J. Martyn)
  5. The Glory Of Love (B. Hill)
  6. Look In (J. Martyn)
  7. Beverley (J. Martyn)
  8. Make No Mistake (J. Martyn)
  9. Ways To Cry (J. Martyn)
  10. So Much In Love With You (J. Martyn)